You Snooze You Lose (Weight)

Tonight was an interesting night. I don’t usually work on Saturday nights, but I tried my hand at it tonight and boy was I disgusted by what I saw. The entire shift was pretty normal– wait times of no more than 25 minutes.

Until roughly 8:50 pm.

That’s when the calvary arrived.

I was baffled when people kept pouring in after 9pm because- PEOPLE! -don’t we all know that eating after 8pm is BAD. FOR. YOU.??!

By 10:15pm, THIS is what the restaurant looked like:

[Photo removed due to privacy issues– to protect restaurant]

 

And no, you did not read that wrong. I said “PM“.

My. Dear. Lord. Now I understand why our country is OBESE. Because you can’t even make the argument that “Oh, well these people are all drunk”–

[blank stare]

THATMAKESITEVENWORSE.

THAT means that not only are you sitting in my restaurant at nearly TOMORROW pm, but you’ve ALSO just returned from a night of ingesting who KNOWS how many calories– only to go home and sleep. No exercising, no allowing your body to digest. No rejuvenation. Because the only thing your body is going to be focused on for the next 8 hours is figuring out how to get rid of all of that SH-T.

Sick.

I know a lot of people have debated whether the whole “You shouldn’t eat after 8pm” rule is true, but a recent study has concluded that food ingested at night does, in fact contribute to a higher BMI than otherwise. So BAM. Now you have proof. The New York Times article describing the study explains the “late sleeper” syndrome, too, which takes into account how late people sleep in and what their actual sleeping habits are. There’s even a disease named after the habit of eating late at night called, appropriately, Night Eating Syndrome (NES). This is sad sad news, people.

There IS hope, though. It’s kind of the antithesis of the phenomenon described above. Recent studies suggest that getting a good night’s sleep may actually contribute to better eating habits. So let’s review then: Eating late at night leads to insomnia and overweight. Getting a good night’s rest leads to better overall health and wellness.

I wish I could have screamed these results at the customers tonight.

Instead, I just offered them a milkshake.

After all, it isn’t MY waistline they’re destroying.

5 thoughts on “You Snooze You Lose (Weight)

  1. Wow! Looks like the restaurant was hopping!!!!

    Thanks for sharing studies about the negative health effects of eating after 8 PM. Hmmmm…I think I might have second thoughts before having late night munchies in the future and instead opt for a nice piece of fruit or the old brushing your teeth at 8PM so you don’t eat trick 😉

    • Ahhhh SUCH a good idea!! I do admit that sometimes I’m famished after work at 11:30pm,… but the thing is I don’t go to a RESTaurant to eat. ESPECially not my restaurant, where the fewest number of calories you will ingest is about 1,000 😉

      • Understood. Restaurant food has a lot of calories. I can’t wait till they print calories on all the menus. I use to love Cold Stone Creamery until I realized the item I got off the menu was 980 calories. Now its only Fro Yo for me (with fruit toppings or granola). Still a hefty amount of calories (approx. 250), which fits better with my daily calorie count, meaning I can still eat the rest of the day 😉

  2. Honestly, I think we as individuals know best about how to take care of ourselves. Perhaps some of the guests you had last night ran a 5k or biked 10 miles? If we are self-aware enough, we know when to cut back on certain things and when to go to sleep and when to have a snack.

  3. I’ve known about the “eating after 8 pm” rule since I was in high school but I can’t ever follow it. I would rather eat when I’m hungry and work out. I think everything is okay as long as it’s in moderation.

Leave a Reply

